Loading... Please wait...

Follow us on:

facebook twitter pinterest

Sign up for Our Newsletter

Dorje Chang

Dorje Chang is one of the names that Vajradhara is referred to in the Tibetan school of Buddhism. He is also said to be the ultimate primordial Buddha in several schools of Buddhism. As Buddhism evolved over the course of time, Dorje Chang ultimately displaced the primordial Buddha of the ancient teachings of Buddhism, Samantabhadra. It is important to note however that both Vajradhara and Samantabhadra are considered to be equals on a metaphysical level. After all, attaining the state of enlightenment is synonymous with the realization of the universe.

The primordial Buddha references a self-originating, self-emanating Buddha. This Buddha is said to have been present prior to the existence of anything else. There are a few other names that the primordial Buddha is referred to as, but it does typically depend on the school of teachings that you follow. The primordial Buddha is also said to be recognized as being the center of a large and extended array of both wrathful and peaceful deities, all of whom are considered to be reflections of the primordial Buddha. In addition, all of the famous sages and teachers of Buddhism, along with all bodhisattvas, are said to be the reflection of the primordial Buddha, and are often also identified as being varying aspects of his personality. It is important to note that there is a key difference between the primordial Buddha and the supreme or historical Buddha. The supreme or historical Buddha is the term used to describe the Buddha, Siddhartha Gautama, who was responsible for spreading the teachings of Buddhism after he attained enlightenment.

Vajradhara is most often depicted as being a dark blue color, which is an expression of being a Buddha, and is representative of the essence of his realization of true enlightenment. Vajradhara is also thought to be the ultimate essence of all male Buddha, and his name actually translates to having the meaning of the Bearer of the Thunderbolt.

Dorje Change is also said to be an expression of Buddhism and Buddhahood itself, and he is also considered to be the prime Buddha responsible for the Father Tantras. From Dorje Chang/Vajradhara it is said that the Five Wisdom Buddha were manifested. The Five Wisdom Buddha is as follows.

1. Vairocana is very often depicted in texts like the Flower Garland Sutra, and is known as the Bliss Body of the historical Buddha, Siddhartha Gautama. He is also often seen as the embodiment of the concept of emptiness. His consort is very often White Tara.

2. Akshobhya, whose name translated as being the “Immovable One.” He is blue in color, and is typically accompanied by two elephants, along with his consort Lochana. His attributes include several items, including three robes and a staff, the bell, a jewel, a lotus, a sword, and a prayer wheel. He has several emanations that have been depicted throughout the years.

3. Amoghasiddhi is typically associated with the attainment of Buddhahood, and the destruction of the poison that is envy. His name translates to mean “He Whose Accomplishment Was Not In Vain.” Like other Buddha, he is blue in color. He is typically kept company by his consort Tara, and is mounted upon garudas, which are giant mythical birds that closely resemble eagles. Amoghasiddhi belongs to the family of Karma, and is often depicted with the family symbol that is the double thunderbolt.

4. Ratnasambhava has a focus on the development of equality and equanimity. He is said to be associated with the destruction of pride and greed. He is typically depicted as being mounted on a magnificent steed or on a pair of lions. His consort is Mamaki, and he also has a wrathful manifestation known as Gundari.

5. Amitabha is a celestial Buddha who is typically described in texts as being the primary Buddha in a branch of Buddhism that is primarily practiced in East Asia. He is known for being able to bestow the gift of longevity and recognition on his followers, along with having a deep awareness of individualities. Amitabha is said to possess infinite merits that have resulted from the good deeds that he has performed over his countless past lives when he was still a bodhisattva who was named Dharmakara. His name translated to meaning the “Infinite Light.” This often results in Amitabha being referred to as the “Buddha of Infinite Light.” Dorje Chang and the Five Wisdom Buddha are very often the subjects included in mandala, which is a word that is literally translated to mean circle, but is representative of so much more. Mandala is the form that the most sacred of religious artworks are placed in, and is representative of radial balance. Mandala could refer to tapestries, sand art, or even elaborate paintings.

Both Dorje Chang and the other who is considered to be primordial Buddha are very often depicted as bearing different names, having different attributes, and varying in their appearances. They could be depicted with or without jewelry, with regal or plain robes, on their own, or accompanied by others. As the primordial Buddha, they are both considered to be the embodiment of the ultimate emptiness and void.