Loading... Please wait...

Follow us on:

facebook twitter pinterest

Sign up for Our Newsletter

Sort by:

Bells, Dorjes, Phurbas

Tibetan Buddhist Bells, Ghantas, Dorjes, Vajras, and Phurbas, or Kilayas

The Tibetan dorje is known as vajra in Sanskrit. A double dorje symbol is called, 'vishva vajra' in Sanskrit. The Tibetan dorje symbol represents the 'thunderbolt of enlightenment,' which is the pivotal point in Tibetan Buddhism as enlightenment is the thing that all Buddhists hope to achieve. The dorje also stands for compassion and in Tantric Buddhism is the masculine element paired with the bell (ghanta) which is the feminine element that stands for wisdom. Many of our ghanta and dorje sets are sold together, but we also have dorjes sold alone. These can be placed on your home altar or as decoration in your home. The Buddha that is most connected with the vajra is Vajrasattvaalthough Mahakala also holds a vajra in his hand.

The Vajra is the most important tool in Vajrayana Buddhism, one of the three major branches of Buddhism, along with Mahayana and Theravada. 

The Tibetan Buddhist phurba represents a dagger (although phurbas are not sharp) and is used in Buddhist Tantric philosophy to represent the ability to overcome obstacles and destroy evil. The phurba is also called a kila or kilaya. The kilaya is used in Himalayan shamanic ceremonies as well as in Buddhism.